The Journey Begins

sunrise under cloudy sky illustration
Photo by Public Domain Pictures on Pexels.com

Hello everyone!

Welcome to my new blog, Suddenly Disabled! If you’ve been following my not-so-new blog, Films, Falls, and Free-For-Alls, you may find this one a bit different. Unlike my film blog, where I analyze films for fun, this one is more like a resource blog where people can learn about disabilities they may be dealing with out of the blue and any resources that may help. I got the idea from my Uncle when he thought about the articles I write for a magazine about disabilities. I told him I don’t always write about every organization I find, so we both agreed that this would be a great alternative!

But instead of randomly writing about each organization I find, I thought it would be better to start with disabilities from head-to-toe throughout the body, with three posts on each one for each of the fifty states in the U.S.  This is a daunting task, but I know it will help many people in the long run!  I’ll start with Dementia, a form of Alzheimer’s. My grandma lives in a memory care facility from Dementia, so the best way to give back to her and our family’s journey is by letting others know about the condition and where to get help.

Me and my brithe standing beside my grandma
Me on the left standing beside my grandma, with my brother on the right

And since we’re going all around the U.S., let’s start with Alabama and continue on from A-Z! The first one will be about an Alzheimer’s organization, while the next two will showcase two facilities that can help those with Dementia in Alabama.

If you have any suggestions for future disabilities and organizations, let me know below!

Leave a comment